The Technique is the Teacher

Recently, while teaching a white belt a new technique, I think it was the seiken, these words came out of my mouth, “the technique will teach you how to do it”. That one sentence has lead me to another level of understanding.

The real teacher in karate is not the sensei but the particular technique itself. The sensei is vital and required for transmission but he is really a guide. I cannot teach a mae geri. The student learns the mae geri from repetition, examination and perseverance. The perfect form exists in an unreal state of imagination, never obtainable but always pursued.

The arts are ancient and sacred. Understanding of Karate form is transmitted as the Way is sought. The technique is the teacher. I can merely correct and adjust and help along a student on their path toward understanding. I am on that path myself. And I have learned more in the dojo by myself, late at night, working basic technique for hours than I have at many seminars.

There is no secret way, no hidden path toward mastery. The Way of Karate is long and hard and priceless and endless.

Solo training late summer nights

Solo training late summer nights

Solo training late summer nights

Solo training late summer nights

Leave a Reply

